Now that’s a fun run

Last night Chuck and I met Tricia and Sara right after work for a short run in the park. We were sad to miss the group run on Tuesday, which our coaches banned us from doing on account of the weather. We had intended to go to the expo last night and pick up our numbers and check out the booths, but one last run together sounded so much more appealing. And I’m so glad that’s what we chose.

We met at 59th and 5th to head into the park. Chuck and Sara were wearing our Team R2R training shirts, I was wearing my marathon singlet, and Tricia was wearing her brand-new official Marathon long-sleeve tech shirt, which she had picked up at the expo earlier in the day. We were obviously a little group getting that final run in before the big race.

We entered the park and ran up the path to where the loop begins, and we were greeted by a giant sign above our heads: MILE 25. Oh my goodness! Mile 25. What will I feel like on Sunday when I’m crossing this spot going in the opposite direction? The mere thought is frightening. I had to block it out right away or else I would be paralyzed with fear.

A bit further up on the loop, as Tricia was giving us her insider’s guide to the expo, we started to realize that most of the people out running were doing the same thing as us – getting in one last jog before the race and checking out the park. We passed a group of people who looked like “elites” – super fast people with bodies born to run. Moments later, another fast guy passed us and shouted out, “hey, did you guys see Paula Radcliffe back there?” Paula Radcliffe! She won the marathon in 2007 (just 10 months after having a baby!) and holds the women’s world record of 2:15:25 (aka less than half the time it will take me). She’s expected to break her record this year. She was wearing a pink top and she looked about 15 feet tall (though Wikipedia tells me she’s only 5’8”). So, basically, we went for a pre-Marathon jog with Paula. How perfect. 

Shortly after that, we passed someone going in the opposite direction, just a dude running by himself. As he passed, he said, not too loudly, just so we could hear: “See you Sunday.” I love that! I LOVE it. It almost brought a little tear to my eye. It’s so nice how everyone is so friendly and encouraging. For a second, excitement for Sunday overrode paralyzing fear.

The rest of our jog was lovely. We only did about 3 miles, and it was comfortable. We ran around the finish line and rubbed the statue of Fred LeBow for luck. And that’s it. No more running for us until we set out for 26.2.

Below, a selection of pictures (all courtesy Coach Brian) from all of our months of training.

bridge

last 10 miles 2

last 10 miles 3

last 10 miles 4

last 10 miles

scary me

summer

team!

6 responses to “Now that’s a fun run

  1. Good Luck! We will be cheering you on!!

  2. I can’t wait!!! I went out for my last run this afternoon. The same 3 miler that I started my training program with.

    See you tomorrow night at Carmine’s!!!

  3. Meg! I am so insanely proud of you!! Regardless of your time on Sunday, you are totally a winner. I can’t wait to read all about the experience. Huge hugs from Philly. xoxo

  4. All I can say is 🙂

  5. Have fun on Sunday! I can’t wait to get going!

Leave a comment